Safety and health

Article

In this article

Safety and health

Our safety philosophy

At ExxonMobil, we believe that it is possible to obtain the energy the world needs while also protecting people and the environment.

The answer lies in three uncompromising pursuits: exceptional technology, rigorous standards and an unwavering commitment to best-practice safety procedures.

We launched a top-to-bottom review of our operations and implemented a system that today guides every operating decision we make daily. That system is called the Operations Integrity Management System, or OIMS.

The OIMS consists of 11 separate elements that measure and mitigate safety, security, health and environmental risk to people, the environment and the communities in which we operate. A fundamental aspect of OIMS is to assess the risk involved in our operations — from offshore platforms to our offices — and then develop plans to mitigate and manage that risk over the operation’s life.

ExxonMobil’s systematic and disciplined approach to safety has produced significant improvements, but we know that there is also risk in complacency. So as we continue to explore for new sources of energy, we will also continue to explore new ways to increase safety. That is our obligation and our commitment.

Key processes and management systems

ExxonMobil seeks to conduct business in a manner compatible with the environmental, social and economic needs of the communities in which we operate.

At the same time, we focus on protecting the safety, security and health of our employees, those involved with our operations, our customers and the public.

Across ExxonMobil’s global operations, we rigorously apply management systems to enable high operational performance. We use these management systems to identify, track and report the metrics that demonstrate and guide our performance. These systems enable us to comply with regulations and, where laws and regulations do not exist, they provide a framework for maintaining our high standards. From the drilling of a well to the delivery of petroleum products, these expectations provide a foundation for managing risk and achieving excellence in each of our business lines.

Operations Integrity Management System

We are committed to conducting business in a manner compatible with the environmental and economic needs of the communities in which we operate that protects the safety, security and health of our employees, those involved with our operations, our customers and the public.

These commitments are documented in our safety, security, health, environmental and product safety policies.

These policies are put into practice through a disciplined management framework called the Operations Integrity Management System (OIMS).

ExxonMobil’s OIMS framework establishes common worldwide expectations for addressing risks inherent in our business. ExxonMobil uses the term “operations integrity” to address all aspects of its business that can impact personnel and process safety, security, health, and environmental performance.

The OIMS framework includes 11 elements. Each element contains an underlying principle and a set of expectations. The OIMS framework also includes the characteristics of, and processes for, evaluating and implementing operations integrity management systems.

ExxonMobil requires the application of the OIMS framework  with a particular emphasis on design, construction and operations. Management is responsible for ensuring that systems satisfying the framework are in place. The scope, priority and pace of management system implementation should be consistent with the risks associated with the business.

ExxonMobil’s OIMS framework establishes common worldwide expectations for addressing risks inherent in its business.

Safety and security

No matter where in the world we work, we are relentless in our pursuit of Nobody Gets Hurt.

At ExxonMobil, our efforts to protect the safety and health of our employees, contractors and communities are fundamental to our long-term business success. As such, we are committed to providing the energy needed to power the world’s progress safely and responsibly. We seek to promote a culture of safety and health by attracting, developing and retaining individuals who share our core values and our commitment to integrity and operational excellence.

At ExxonMobil, safety is more than just a priority — it is a core value and an integral part of our culture that applies to every aspect of our operations. Wherever we are in the world, we are committed to doing the right thing the right way every time so that every employee and contractor comes home from work safe and healthy each day. We will never stop working toward our goal of Nobody Gets Hurt.

Ensuring the security of our people, physical assets and intellectual property is systematically embedded in our daily operations. We regularly assess potential threats to our operations. Our security personnel participate in security-related drills, training and industry forums to enhance our established risk management methodologies, threat-assessment capabilities and technical security applications.

Tsing Yi terminal’s 20th consecutive LTI-free year

Thanks to the resilient commitment of all Tsing Yi terminal workers to run the business through the Operations Integrity Management System, Tsing Yi terminal achieved 20 years of zero lost time incident in 2018.

ExxonMobil’s safety philosophy stresses that it is possible to provide the energy the world needs, while also protecting people and the environment. Tsing Yi terminal has demonstrated that this is indeed achievable, and will continue to put every effort into ensuring that Nobody Gets Hurt.

Emergency preparedness and response

ExxonMobil is committed to operational excellence in all aspects, including safety, reliability, security and service delivery.  We have a full range of response and contingency plans in place and are prepared to respond quickly to emergencies should they occur.

  • All ExxonMobil facilities have contingency response plans that we review and update regularly.
  • We conduct periodic drills to test the plans and train our response personnel.
  • We conduct periodic drills with regulatory bodies/officials/personnel to help ensure compliance with applicable requirements.
  • Local emergency responders such as the Fire Services Department's Hazmat unit participate in these training exercises to help us work together to respond to an incident.

Health and wellness

ExxonMobil cares about the health and well-being of its workers and their families.

Our health policy communicates the corporate expectations for identifying and evaluating health risks related to our operations that can potentially affect our employees, contractors or the public. We seek to address the diverse health considerations prevalent in the different locations in which we work by creating effective and efficient solutions that protect our workforce and operations from major health threats. We also provide voluntary health programs to our employees that are designed to promote enhanced well-being and productivity.

ExxonMobil Hong Kong receives Ergonomics Best Practice Award

ExxonMobil Hong Kong was presented with the 2016 Ergonomics Best Practice Award from the Hong Kong Ergonomics Society (HKES) in recognition of its efforts to protect the safety and well-being of employees with practical ergonomics solutions in the workplace.

This recognition reinforces our strong commitment to creating a safe and healthy workplace where Nobody Gets Hurt. Since the implementation of the Office Ergonomic Program at ExxonMobil Hong Kong office in 2009, there have been no recordable lost-time incidents, medical treatment incidents or restricted work incidents related to musculoskeletal disorders in our office.

The HKES Ergonomics Best Practice Award is designed to promote the research and application of ergonomics in Hong Kong and Asia by recognizing companies that adopt practical ergonomics and practitioners who conduct high-quality ergonomics-related projects. ExxonMobil Hong Kong received the award for having demonstrated excellence in the areas of scientific merit, innovation, utility and applicability.

Related content

History

Who we are Article

Business divisions

ExxonMobil uses technology and innovation to help meet the world’s growing energy needs. We hold an industry-leading inventory of resources and are one of the world’s largest integrated refiners, marketers of petroleum products and chemical manufacturers. Access to energy underpins human comfort, mobility, economic prosperity and social progress. It touches nearly every aspect of modern life. We work very hard to meet Hong Kong and Macau’s growing energy needs, and have done so since we began operating here more than 120 years ago.

Our business Article

Contact us

Company Article

安全及健康

文章

在此篇文章中

安全及健康

我們的安全哲學

埃克森美孚相信,滿足世界的能源需求與保護人類和環境能兩者兼得。

我們相信關鍵在於對三個追求永不妥協︰卓越技術、嚴格標準及對實施最佳安全程序的堅定承諾。我們全面審視公司營運,並採用完整運作管理系統(Operations Integrity Management System (OIMS ) 為日常營運決策提供指引。

該系統由11個獨立元素組成,用於衡量和減低集團營運對人類、環境及社區在安全、保安、健康及環境方面的風險。評估營運(從鑽油平台到我們的辦公室)所涉及的風險然後制訂計劃,以降低和管理這些風險對OIMS而言至關重要。

埃克森美孚採取系統化及嚴謹的安全管理方針,一直有顯著成效。我們明白安於現狀將帶來風險,因此,在探索新能源的同時,我們將繼續研究提升安全性的新方案。這是我們對公眾的義務及承諾。

重要流程及管理系統

埃克森美孚以符合所在地區的環境、社區及經濟需要的方式營運。同時,我們致力保障員工、合作夥伴、客戶及公眾的安全、保安及健康。

埃克森美孚在全球的業務營運均嚴格應用管理系統以維持出色的表現。我們以此管理系統識別、追蹤及報告一系列指標,以衡量我們的表現並為其提供指引。此系統確保我們遵守法規,在缺乏相關法規的情況下仍提供框架讓我們維持出色表現。從鑽油井到石油產品的交付,此系統均為我們每個業務領域的風險管理和卓越績效奠定了基礎。

完整運作管理系統 

我們承諾在日常營運時時刻照顧所在地區的社區環境及經濟需要,並同時保障員工、合作夥伴、客戶及公眾的安全、保安及健康。 

這些承諾全都記錄在我們的安全、保安、健康、環境及產品安全政策內。

而這些政策將透過一個規範的管理框架 — 完整運作管理系統(OIMS)來推行。

埃克森美孚的OIMS框架為我們解決業務上的固有風險方面建立了全球共同期望。我們以營運完善性 這個概念處理所有業務範疇內有關員工及流程的安全、保安、健康及環境表現的問題。

OIMS框架涵蓋11種元素,每種元素都制定了一套基本原則及期望準則。OIMS框架也訂立了OI管理系統的特點及其評估和實施的流程。

公司所有部門都必須採用OIMS框架,該框架尤其注重設計、施工及營運層面。管理層有責任確保管理系統符合框架的要求並已準備就緒。管理系統實施的範疇、優先次序及速度應與業務相關風險一致。

埃克森美孚的 OIMS框架為我們解決業務上的固有風險建立了全球共同期望。

安全及保安

無論在世界哪個地方工作,我們都盡力追求零傷亡的目標。 

埃克森美孚致力保障員工、承辦商及社群的安全及健康,這亦是公司多年來成功的基礎。我們致力以負責任及安全的方式提供能源,推動世界進步。透過吸引、培養和挽留擁有共同的核心價值及承諾追求誠信和出色表現的人才,努力打造安全與健康的文化。

安全不僅是埃克森美孚公司的首要考慮,更是我們企業文化的核心價值中不可分割的一部分。保護員工的安全和健康是公司業務的基礎。無論我們身在何方,都致力以正確的方式做正確的事,確保員工及承辦商每天都能安全及健康地回家。實踐「零傷亡」這個目標,我們絕不鬆懈。

確保員工、資產及知識產權的安全已成為我們的日常營運的一部分。我們會定期評估營運的潛在威脅。安全人員經常參與有關安全的演習、培訓及行業論壇以進一步提升風險管理方法、加強評估威脅能力和改善技術安全應用程序。

 

青衣油庫連續第二十年零損失工時事故

有賴所有青衣油庫員工平日嚴格遵守OIMS要求,青衣油庫於2018年刷新了連續二十年零損失工時事故的紀錄。

埃克森美孚的安全理念強調在為世界提供所需能源同時保護員工及環境。青衣油庫的成功正好證明這個原則是可行的,我們將繼續致力確保零傷亡。

緊急狀況應對及準備

埃克森美孚致力在安全、可靠、保安及服務等所有範疇做到最好。我們設有一套全面的應變方案,在緊急情況時能作出迅速反應。方案涵蓋多項措施,包括:

  • 定期檢視所有埃克森美孚的設施及更新現有的應變方案。
  • 定期進行演習以測試方案及訓練應急人員。
  • 定期與監管機構/政府人員/員工進行演習以確保遵守法規適用要求。
  • 地方緊急教援人員(例如消防處的危害物質專隊)會參與訓練,協助我們共同應對事故。

健康與保健 

埃克森美孚關心員工及其家人的健康與福祉。

公司識別及評估營運可能為員工、承辦商及公眾帶來的健康風險,並納入健康政策內。為保護員工和營運免受重大健康威脅,我們訂立可行且具效率的方案,以解決各種在不同工作環境很普遍的健康問題。同時也為員工提供自願性保健計劃,以改善員工的福祉和提高生產力。

埃克森美孚榮獲人類工效學最佳實踐獎

埃克森美孚香港 榮獲香港人類工效學學會頒發2016年度人類工效學最佳實踐獎,表彰其在工作場所應用實用人體工效學解決方案,保障員工的健康和福祉。

該獎項肯定了我們在打造安全、健康、零傷亡的工作場所方面的信念。自2009年起,埃克森美孚香港在辦公室推行人體工效學計劃,自此沒有發生損失工時意外、醫療事件和肌肉勞損事件。

香港人類工效學學會通過頒發人體工效學最佳實踐獎,認可採用實用人體工效學措施的公司及推行優質人體工效學相關項目人員,促進香港以至亞洲的人體工效學研究和應用。埃克森美孚香港憑藉在科學價值、創新、實用性和適用性等方面的傑出表現獲得最佳實踐獎。

相關內容

業務

埃克森美孚以科技和不斷創新配合全球與日俱增的能源需求,亦是全球其中一間最大的綜合煉油廠、石油產品營銷商和化學品製造商,資源庫存傲視同儕。能源是人類舒適、流動、經濟繁榮和社會進步的基礎,幾乎涉及現代生活的所有層面。自公司於120多年前於區內開始營運以來,我們一直竭力滿足香港和澳門不斷增長的能源需求。

業務 文章

聯絡我們

公司 文章